Saturday, April 13, 2024

NDOC announces candidate endorsements

| October 12, 2023 1:00 AM

Nonpartisan Doctors of Coeur d’Alene announced the candidates it is endorsing for the Nov. 7 election.

With input from the bipartisan group Citizens to Elect Qualified Experienced Candidates, NDOC endorses:

Coeur d'Alene City Council Seat 1 — Christie Wood

Coeur d'Alene City Council Seat 2 — Dan English

Coeur d'Alene City Council Seat 5 — Dan Gookin

City of Hayden Mayor — Alan Davis

Hayden City Council Seat 3 — Roger D. Saterfiel

Coeur d'Alene School Trustee Zone 2 — Jimmy McAndrew

Coeur d'Alene School Trustee Zone 3 — Heather Tenbrink

Lakeland School Trustee Zone 1 — Randi Bain

Lakeland School Trustee Zone 2 — Cherish Hansen

Lakeland School Trustee Zone 3 — Sheila Holfeltz

Kootenai County Fire and Rescue Sub District 4 — Pam Houser

NDOC is a growing group of over 80 health care providers, comprised of Republicans, Democrats and independents.

"We believe in the scientific method and expertise. We promote civility and kindness, and shun bullying and intimidation. We stand with frontline workers in health care, first responders and law enforcement," said a news release announcing the group's endorsements. "We support qualified, experienced, and competent leadership for our cities and schools with two objectives in mind. First, to help us on our mission to provide exceptional care for our community, and second, to maintain a vibrant local economy with strong educational opportunities for our children. These goals are directed towards continuing to attract and retain high-quality healthcare workers to care for the people of this region."