Friday, July 19, 2024

Sue Thilo and Darin Hayes join Kootenai Health Foundation

| July 14, 2017 1:00 AM



Kootenai Health announces

new board members

Kootenai Health Foundation announces the recent additions of Sue Thilo and Darin Hayes as board members.

Thilo and Hayes began serving three-year terms on May 10 and June 14 respectively.

Thilo began her career in the communications industry and retired in 2009 as business manager for Tom Thilo, M.D.

After moving to Coeur d’Alene, she began working with the Foundation in 1989 as the founding director of the Festival of Trees. She was elected to the board of trustees for North Idaho College in 1994 and served for several years before accepting an appointment to the Idaho State Board of Education from 2004 to 2009.

Thilo has also served on the boards of several nonprofit organizations including EXCEL Foundation, Idaho Youth Ranch, United Way of Kootenai County, Coeur d’Alene Chamber of Commerce, TESH and the Rotary Club.

She serves as the chair of the Idaho Community Foundation and on the boards for North Idaho College Foundation and the Coeur d’Alene Rotary Endowment Foundation. She also serves on the Salvation Army Advisory Board where she was instrumental in winning a $65 million grant from the Salvation Army to build the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center in Coeur d’Alene.

She received a bachelor’s degree in sociology and education from Iowa State University and has been a resident of Coeur d’Alene and Hayden since 1985.

Hayes has been with D.A. Davidson for 12 years as a financial advisor, portfolio manager and co-branch manager at the Coeur d’Alene and Sandpoint branches.

He has been a member of the foundation's finance committee. Hayes has served in many leadership roles, including chairman of the board for the Coeur d’Alene Chamber of Commerce, chairman of the board for LAM Christian Academy, board member for the EXCEL Foundation, chair of the Coeur d’Alene Chamber Public Policy committee and currently as the chair of the Coeur d’Alene Chamber Executive Roundtable.

He received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Idaho and has been a resident of Coeur d’Alene for 20 years.

Thilo and Hayes join current board members Peter Wagstaff, Georgianne Jessen, Steve Griffitts, Chris Meyer, Mike Chapman, Russ Porter, Eve Knudtsen, Chad Murray, Becky McIntire Boifeuillet, Randy Oaks and Sara Pierce.

If you have a new, relocated or expanded business, or announcement of events, promotions or awards, The Press wants to let our readers know. The service is free and items run Tuesday through Saturday. To get the word on the street about your movers and shakers, email City Editor Maureen Dolan at