Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Cd'A Tribe swears in elected officers

| May 14, 2022 1:00 AM

The Coeur d’Alene Tribe held its annual Tribal Council election Saturday May 7, at Tribal Headquarters in Plummer. Two seats were up for election, according to a news release.

Gene H. James was re-elected, and Margaret SiJohn was elected, each to three-year terms.

The new council unanimously re-elected Chief J. Allan as chairman, Donald Szcenski as vice chairman and Hemene James as secretary treasurer.

The swearing in ceremony was held at the Long House in Worley with Tribal membership and staff in attendance.

Council members each spoke about the challenges and opportunities facing the Tribe, and several pointed to the successes of the last year emerging from the pandemic.

Chief Allan previously served as chairman from 2005-2018, and from June 2020 to present.

He addressed the audience and commended the Tribe for its handling of the pandemic, opening the Coeur Center, and continuing to push for continued growth and opportunity.

“My greatest passion is for the Coeur d’Alene Tribe and especially our youth," Allan said. "They are our future and will carry on after we are gone. They are worth our greatest investments, and that is where my priority is going to be.”