Monday, May 29, 2023

Women's group seeks award nominees

| October 8, 2021 1:00 AM

The Spokane-Coeur d'Alene Chapter of Women in Transportation seeks nominations to celebrate the "Best of the Inland Northwest" with 2021 Recognition Awards. 

Founded in 1977, Women in Transportation (WTS) is an international organization that aims to build the "future of transportation through the advancement of women." Today, WTS has more than 6,500 female and male members dedicated to its mission. 

Nominations are due by Nov. 3. 

Award categories are:

Member of the Year — recognizes a WTS member who has made "extraordinary contributions" to the organization's success.

Woman of the Year — honors a woman who is an "outstanding role model and has contributed to the advancement of women and minorities in transportation."

Ray LaHood Award (Man of the Year) — named for the former U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, the award honors a man who has shown "efforts to attract, retain, and advance women in transportation."

Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award — acknowledges an individual who had exhibited "extraordinary efforts or initiatives in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minorities."

Employer of the Year — highlights a business, agency, or organization in the Spokane-Coeur d'Alene region that supports WTS goals.

Project of the Year — recognizes a transportation project or service led by a woman that "improves the quality of life for its users and the community."

WTS membership is not required to receive an award in all categories other than Member of the Year. 

To submit nominations, visit 


Recent Headlines