Saturday, April 01, 2023

Zags not selected to host NCAA baseball regional

| May 31, 2021 1:00 AM

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 74th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship — and the Gonzaga Bulldogs, despite winning the West Coast Conference, were not selected as one of the host schools.

Two weeks ago Gonzaga was selected as one of 20 predetermined preliminary-round sites for the tournament. Of the 20 sites, the committee chose 16 on Sunday to host regional round games; eight of those 16 regional sites will host super regionals.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows:

Austin, Texas - Texas (42-15)

Columbia, S.C. – South Carolina (33-21)

Eugene, Ore. – Oregon (37-14)

Fayetteville, Ark. – Arkansas (46-10)

Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (39-17); through games played Saturday

Gainesville, Fla. – Florida (38-20)

Greenville, N.C. – East Carolina (41-15)

Knoxville, Tenn. – Tennessee (45-16)

Lubbock, Texas – Texas Tech (36-15)

Nashville, Tenn. – Vanderbilt (40-15)

Oxford, Miss. – Ole Miss (41-19)

Ruston, La. – Louisiana Tech (40-18)

South Bend, Ind. – Notre Dame (30-11)

Stanford, Calif. – Stanford (33-14)

Starkville, Miss. – Mississippi St. (40-15)

Tucson, Ariz. – Arizona (40-15)

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4 to Monday, June 7 (if necessary).

Gonzaga, which earned an automatic bid to the NCAAs by winning the WCC, will learn today (9 a.m., ESPN2) its destination for its four-team regional.

Washington State will learn today if it has received an at-large bid to the 64-team tournament.

Recent Headlines