Monday, March 04, 2024

Northwest Notes May 8, 2021

| May 8, 2021 1:00 AM

NAU’s Arnson Named FCS Punter of the Year

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Northern Arizona’s DJ Arnson was named FCS Punter of the Year by the Augusta Sports Council, it was announced Friday.

He was chosen from a field of 10 semifinalists, including two other punters from the Big Sky Conference in Cade Coffey (Idaho), the former Lakeland High standout, and Daniel Whelan (UC Davis).

Arnson was Big Sky Special Teams Player of the Week following NAU’s final game against Idaho, where he had the longest punt in the history of the Walkup Skydome, an 82-yarder.

Of his 25 punts this season, he landed 14 inside the 20-yard line. He had an average of 43.96 yards per punt and is the FCS’s active leader in career punting average at 44.2 yards.