Thursday, May 30, 2024


| May 2, 2020 1:05 AM

Former Zag Morrison voted into

Washington Sports Hall of Fame

Former Gonzaga standout Adam Morrison was one of six individuals who have been voted into the State of Washington Sports Hall of Fame for 2020.

In addition to Morrison, the other members of the Class of 2020 are Aaron Sele, an All-Star pitcher for the Seattle Mariners; Brad Walker, former holder of the U.S. pole vault record and formerly of University High; Dick Cartmell, a Division I basketball referee for over 35 years with five Final Fours to his credit; Don Zech, coach of the 1963 state championship Bishop Blanchet boys basketball team and the 1976 University of Puget Sound Loggers, the NCAA Division II champions, and Joe Kearney, University of Washington athletic director from 1969-76.

As a junior in 2006, Morrison led the nation in scoring in his last year, averaging 28.1 points per game — only the second Zag to do so. Morrison was the fourth Zag to earn Wooden Award All-American. He was a consensus Associated Press All-America first-team pick. Morrison also earned National Association of Basketball Coaches Co-Player of the Year and USBWA Oscar Robertson Trophy Co-Player of the Year accolades during 2006.

Morrison, who starred at Mead High, earned back-to-back West Coast Conference Tournament Most Valuable Player honors (2005, 2006) and was a two-time WCC first team honoree. Morrison was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year in 2006.

Morrison finished his career as the third-leading scorer in Gonzaga history with 1,867 points. He is also third in the career rankings for field goals made (659), fourth in free throws made (398) and ninth in 3-point field goals made (127). Morrison is first in single-season points (926 in 2006), field goals made (306 in 2006) and free throws made (240 in 2006). Morrison was drafted by the Charlotte Bobcats as the third pick overall in the 2006 draft; the highest draft pick for a Gonzaga player.

A panel that includes sportswriters and broadcasters from throughout the state makes the Hall of Fame selections. Dates for induction ceremonies are pending.